HelenJG

By HelenJG

Carolyn Grace and her Spitfire

So the Lancasters couldn't make it due to the weather, but Sywell was still amazing. One of the highlights for me was seeing Carolyn Grace putting her Spitfire through it's paces. She's a remarkable lady and the story behind the plane and her flying her is really inspirational. The plane was restored by her late husband who was sadly killed in a car crash a couple of years after the work was complete. Carolyn learnt how to fly, obtained the relevant licences and then completed her display training, she's now amassed over 1000 hours in the cockpit of this plane. You can read more of the story here:

I haven't made it to the end of the photos yet, but I need sleep. I'll share a link to the rest when I've worked my way through them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.