An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Winchester Cathedral....

At night, in the rain...

Friday 15th August

Quite why I thought that a trip up to Winchester for some time exposures was a good idea, I do not know.

Especially after my escapades and encounters with rain at Bournemouth, last week.

But it wasn't heavy and did create rather a lovely sheen - and I was able to take this from under a tree, which kept both me and the tripod-mounted camera, (largely) dry.

LARGE

My friend Des likes this image, as, a) it features the very fine War Memorial - rather fitting at this particular time b) it's in colour - Des is not keen on mono, and c) its horizontal format fits his computer screen.

I also like this image, I hope you do, too.

The colours are accentuated by being the photo taken during the 'blue hour' - when there is still some light in the late dusk sky and the fact that the floodlighting the Cathedral uses starts off quite deep and intense and as they get brighter (warming up?) they become more neutral in colour. Even though when on fully, at night, seem a lot warmer than say, Salisbury Cathedral's.

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.