Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Through the Pinhole

The Master of the House is a keen follower of photography. Following the success of George Davison's The Onion Field, which won the highest accolade at the 1890 exhibition of the Photographic Society in London, he was thrilled to get his hands on a pinhole camera of his own, and immediately got the Mistress to pose for him. She had to keep very still for what seemed like an age, but the result was quite pleasing, especially after it was tinted.

I read about using a DSLR camera to take pinhole or lens less photos this morning over a late breakfast. The magazine had instructions for making a pinhole "lens" using a body cap, and recalled I had pinhole camera kit which included the critical component: a piece of thin metal with tiny pinhole. This evening I quickly mounted it to a spare cap and set about experimenting by taking photos of one of my 1:12th scale dolls. I was aiming to simulate the studio portraits popular at the time, and its not too bad for short time I had available. It will be interesting to see how it performs on a life size subject or landscape!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.