Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

The Giant Honey Bee

Large Bee Here
I was taking pictures of bees the other day and lost my balance (was squatting). As I started to fall forward (while still looking through the view finder) my hand slipped and hit a switch on the lens. All of a sudden, the flower in front of me (inches from my face) came into clear view.

I looked at the lens, and the switch went into .47m to .57m mode. I'd seen this setting and always assumed it mean't that I would have to be a 1/2 meter away from the subject. Boy was I wrong! I can get within 4 inches or so.

The lens is relatively long and getting that close does present light and DOF challenges and every little movement is noticeable. For today's blip, I sat down on the ground with the sun shining over my shoulder and waited for the bee's to come. This honey bee showed up about 5 minutes later and was gracious enough to give me a nice profile shot.

Hope you are having a great week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.