LightWave

By LightWave

Giant Swallowtail

I attempted to build the beginnings of a butterfly garden this summer - filled it with zinnias and lantana and waited for beautiful insects to flock to the yard. Waited and waited and waited. It's been a poor summer for butterflies, as I'm sure I have commented on these pages before.

Today, we got an actual visitor - not only that, but of a species that I've never seen before: the giant swallowtail. Not that this specimen was particularly big - it looked about the same size as a normal swallowtail - but the distinctive cross-pattern on the wings gave it away. So, very pleased to see the swallowtail. I hope it enjoyed the zinnias. But I can't help but I feel like I prepared a banquet and only one guest showed up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.