Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

For Those Who Wait......

After a disappointing "pub sign" attempt lastnight, I couldn't believe the the one I completely missed: the one on our "doorstep" where we were moored up!! Only noticed it as I sat out a t the front with a cup of coffee and a book, The Hobbit. Only read a page as the sun came out lighting up this scene right in front of me. Took rather a lot of images as I tried to include myself in the reflection in the boat opposite in true Vivian Maier style. Plus I wanted the "Harlequin" included in the reflection and there were several distractions on the roof of the pub (vents, birds, fans) which I tried to "hide" behind the sign through moving the camera to a certain point. Because of the contrasty conditions I resorted to 3 exposures for HDR treatment. Not a huge fan of HDR, but felt It had to be applied here as there is quite a lot going on in the scene tone-wise. Much of my post editing was spent trying to make it look non-HDR as it is the "overly done" HDR effect" I don't like.

After all that, we had an easy morning again. Followed by an easier afternoon. We then headed back to the boatyard filling up with water and emptying the toilets. Nice. Cleaned out the boat so it gleamed. Then headed home in our new car.

Click here to the start of our boating trip. And here for more photos on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.