MUM

I remember sitting at the big table in the living room and I was scribbling on a piece of paper. I must have only been four and a half and not long started primary school.

I can remember trying to write my name over and over and I eventually got it correct...

'Mum, Mum, I wrote my name!'

She ignored me. She was vaccuming the living room carpet furiously. She was always cleaning...

'Mum? Mum!! Look? I wote my name...' i called holding out my bit of paper to her.

Still she still ignored me.

I can still see her face - angry, bad tempered, stearn... Nothing would get her away from that hoover, not even a glance in my direction.

I remember turning back to the table and staring at my piece of paper with my scribbly written name on it and just feeling so sad and alone and empty...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.