Erinn Letts Photos

By ErinnL

My Bestie

We met over the phone. I was a second year special education teacher and our new assistant principal put me in charge of phone interviews for the opening in our department. We talked for 45 minutes. It was like we had known each other for years. By the time we hung up, I had convinced her to not take the position she had committed herself to and to come work with me. She's been my best friend ever since. We became professionals, we team taught, we traveled, we got married, we bought houses, we had kids. We don't see each other every day anymore, but no matter how much time passes between each visit, it's like no time has passed at all.

Tonight we enjoyed a night by ourselves. A first in a long time. We went to Ward 6, a newish restaurant/bar in my old hood. It's small and usually packed. The food and drinks are all interesting an amazing. Just in case you go, I definitely recommend the Duck Gnocchi and we both recommend the cosmo that's made with rhubarb infused vodka. It was surprisingly refreshing. And for dessert, make sure you try the panna cotta. WOW!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.