Rawalpindi

I have visited the city of Rawalpindi for job interview. During travel, i have taken alot of photographs (after long time)
Highlights of the day
1) The written test to short list candidates for interviews was at 9 Am in the morning. I have to take bus at 2 Am to reach the shalimar hotel where test and interview was scheduled
2) Alot of forigners (mostly looking americans by their english accent) were roaming in the hotel.
3) after the test, result was announced. i have qulaified for the interview among approx 50 other candidates.
4) the interviews were shceduled at 2 pm. but it was not nice idea to call all candidates at the same time and let them wait for thier turn.
5) My interview number was 27. so i went outside to take images. The blipped picture is taken during this time.
6) my interview started at 6 pm. i am told in the first 2 minutes that my education is higher than required by them and i should leave the idea to join their company.
Moreover they try to convince me that i shouldnt rust my research mind on this operational engineer job. I was not dissapointed but surprized that why have they called me without reading my CV. and if they have seen my resume whether they called me just to convince that i shouldnt apply for other operational jobs as well. if this is the case, ther really care for me. I m thankful to them.
7) During my return journey to the bus stop, i have started talking with a taxi driver (it is unusal for me. maybe influenced by kamran's blips) named Salim Maseeh. Our dialogue was like this
Saleem: what do u do
Me: Nothing
Saleem: dont joke.(i was not joking btw) ok tell how many classes u have studied.
Me: i have done Masters
saleem" oh what is it
Me: ohhh i haev studied 18 years
Saleem: oh thats really nice. i wish that i could study
Me: why u wanna study
Saleem: to gain respect
Me: u still deserve respect saleem! as a human! as a worker! as a person who is contributing something to this world. i respect you even u havnt studies.
Saleem: oh really. i m happy to learn this.
I have taken few photos of him in the end. He became so happy that he was even refusing to take fare for taxi drive. he was saying that you are my friend. and it does not look good to do business among friends.
8) during my whole travel back to lahore on bus, i was thinking that who says we humans are mean and we need money as first periority always. he was poor but became ready to give up even his right (taxi drive fare) just in the return of respect. I dont think my travel as waste (even if i havtn been selected in interview) as i have learned the fact that we need RESPECT to be happy. all other things including money are necesssary but come after that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.