eyesee

By davidc

"I'm looking at you...!"

This is one of 3 sculpture heads situated in the new Student Forum area on the campus at Newcastle University; they've been there for 2 years, having previously spent a year elsewhere on the campus. They were made by a Newcastle Fine Art alumnus, Joseph Hillier, and together form an art installation known as "Generation". Each head is said to reference a stage in the evolution of human industry and thought. I think this one is made of cast bronze.

There are 2 Youtube links with lots of info, here and here.

Getting a good photo was slightly tricky in view of buildings in the background so I have to admit to having done a little Photoshopping, to blur the background - and I succumbed to the temptation to make it look as if the head is floating on a flying saucer rather than standing on a plinth :)

Next time I pass there I'll probably blip another of the heads.

Best viewed large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.