55North

By cordelia

Stewie Siskin

A huge thump on the window interrupted my knitting this evening. I picked up an old tea towel and went out to find what I was expecting to be a large stunned bird but instead was a tiny Siskin.

Wrapping him up to keep him warm I took him inside. His heart was racing but he was completely unresponsive. He'd knocked himself out cold. I didn't expect him to live but named him Stewie and held him to keep him warm.

Normally after a few minutes the stunned birds either shudder and die normally due to broken necks or are ready to fly off. Stewie snuggled into his tea towel nest and stayed there despite me twice taking him outside and asking him if he wanted to go (honestly, I really did)!!

He sat on my knee for about 40minutes and just as I was beginning to get a little excited about having a pet Siskin .... off he flew.

Good bye Stewie and good luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.