Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A reversal of roles

You spend many years teaching your children everything so it is quite strange when they start teaching you things - like Luke here, teaching me to helm the boat. I confess I have no interest in sailing so usually don't get involved in the goings on around me when we sail.

Today it was raining all morning....so much for sunny Spain! Apparently this rain is unusual for this time of year. We stayed in port and did some chores -laundry (again!), food shopping, sailing around to the petrol station to fill the diesel tanks on the boat. We motored out of port into the bay for a short while with the intention of having a quick sail, but there was no wind, only rain!

My thoughts of this holiday so far....this coast is not great for sailing, the islands around Greece, Croatia and Turkey are far better. The Spanish do everything much later - they wake up late, there is barely a soul around until 9am in the morning and they eat supper so late - most restaurants only open at 9pm at night which I am finding just too late for me. There are many children around even at midnight which irritates me - when my children were very young they were safely tucked up in their beds by 7.30pm, not screaming in a restaurant! The recession is still in evidence in Spain, so many abandoned, incomplete buildings around it is a bit depressing. But on the positive side - Spain is so much cheaper than England. And as a family all of us together on this boat have had some wonderful bonding moments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.