Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Ghosts

Today we took Tess and a friend to Chambercombe Manor in Ilfracombe. It's properly old and is mentioned in the Domesday Book.
It's also haunted. Or so they told us. They need the money, I guess, so they really need to play on the supernatural to keep the visitors coming.
It's one of the many places in this area that's just there and we never think to visit because we live here and there's no hurry, so I'm glad we finally went.

The weather was rubbish. And the day whizzed by so fast we didn't do everything we intended to do, but I think the girls had an okay day.

We had to rush home to let the dog out and take a Sainsbury's delivery before Richard had to go to work, but we squeezed in a quick visit to Hele Bay beach first.

Today is the actual third anniversary of my blipfoto-ing. It really does feel like three years ago that I started. In some ways it feels longer. When I look back on my first entry: Sunday 21 August 2011 and my completely cameraless life with no interest in photography whatsoever and how that quickly changed, it's actually quite amazing. It's also a very different life now I am not juggling studying. I miss the writing though. I miss it so very very much. I don't know what to do about that because voices, characters and lives come to me all the time and beg me to write their stories and I don't do anything about them.
It's one thing getting haunted by imaginary characters. It's quite another thing utilising them and making them real.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.