Stone Wall

A wall along Bunker Hill Road above our house. Most of the roads in Tamworth have stone walls of this sort running beside them, often on both sides. They generally date from when the forests were cleared for agriculture; the stones dug up (mostly left by glaciers) were used to construct the walls.

My cousin Jennifer came for dinner. She spends her summers at the nearby Fry House, which has been in the family (on my mother's side) for generations. She spends her winters in Birmingham, Alabama, coincidentally near Tuscaloosa where my father grew up. (She moved there to be near her children.)

NOTE on the map: I just realized that the detailed map does not show Bunker Hill road going through to the south, beyond where I placed the spot for this image. In fact it does go through to Routes 113 and 25.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.