Dad

A perfect day of ceremony, love, tears and laughter. Dad was surrounded by friends and family and I want to record and remember those who filled the small Chapel today to join me and my brother and his family in celebrating and remembering my Dad included my cousins, Keith and Chris who I haven't seen for years, (I am so very glad they came), my Cousin Christina (I must tell the story of the rings some time soon) and her brother Carey (Dad's niece and nephew) and of course Carey's wife and children, mbfiatw Jean, Ralph and his Dad, old and dearest friends Sue and Don, life-long buddies of my brother, Paul and Simon, as well as Dad's friends from his local Bridge Club and from his weekly tea-dance in London crowd, and of course, Inga, the 85 yr old dynamo and good friend to Dad in recent years. The whole occasion was a fitting tribute for Dad who so enjoyed a 'sense of occasion'. A "proper" cortège from the house, a traditional service from the vicar, a fine floral display from friends, family and neighbours, all followed by a well catered and comfortable Wake at the South Lodge Hotel - where in the lovely warm afternoon sunshine some of us chose to sit in the terraced garden with our refreshments as everyone chatted and strolled down Memory Lane to revisit precious moments in our stories about Dad. He would have thoroughly approved of everything, this dignified ceremonial and symbolic occasion that was also a time of reunion, love and affection. He would also have approved of the fact that I was wearing a hat. Love you Dad.

The photo is the one we used on The Order of Service . Dad in 1948, aged 19 during his National service (airforce). What a smile. Miss you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.