I don't think it's tacky but....

....I'm sure plenty of others will. Here's my entry for the tackymug theme. I remember the night it commemorates very well. I'd been desperate to go to Gothenburg but we just couldn't afford for my dad and I both to go and he didn't want to go on his own and not take me. There was very little belief that Aberdeen would actually win it anyway. I guess if we'd known the result we'd have got there somehow. I did get to see all the home ties in the campaign though.

On the night of the game everyone I knew was suddenly supporting Aberdeen even though, coming from Edinburgh, mot of my friends supported either Hibs, Hearts, Rangers or Celtic. A friend had a party at his house for the build up then I came home to watch the match. One of my mates came round along with several of my dad's friends. The general consensus was that if Aberdeen scored firsst we were in with a good chance so when Eric Black scored after seven minutes we went mental. The fact that Real equalised less than ten minutes later made it a very nervy game. When Hewitt came on as a sub for Black late on tehre was hope that he'd repeat his feat from the quarter final against Bayern and score the winner. When he went on to do just that we were ecsatatic.

Of course being nine years old I assumed Aberdeen would always be that good. If only we had a team even half as good as that one now....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.