point and press

By crispinhj

no

more

Jobs like this. Ever.

This job handed over in November 2010. At one point I had 19 fixers plus electricians and AC guys all working on it at the same time, with flooring guys coming in at night so that the work during the day wasn't interrupted and delayed. The client's ops team took two weeks off a nine week programme. On top of that, the guys installing the double height glazed shopfront had miscalculated what access was available within the hoarding so we had to completely re-think how it was going to be done in the week before handover.

Which meant that the night before handover we had a team of guys on two cherry pickers taking down the hoarding (which was two storeys high and built very solidly) with the glaziers standing by. As soon as the hoarding was down at about two in the morning the glaziers got the glass. We then had to remove the dustsheets that had been put over all the merchandise to protect it from the mess caused by demolishing the hoarding and make the shop ready to open at mid-day.

The last four days of the job I had nine hours sleep, and I decided I was never going to put myself in that position again.

Having said all that, after nearly four years it still does look very good, crisp and well executed. We're putting a brochure together for the new company and the photos I had of this job weren't great so finding myself nearby I popped into the shop to see if I could take some more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.