ninniex

By ninniex

Araluen Tulip Festival

We (the driver and I) went up to the hills today to the Araluen tulip festival. This year the organisers have involved the Dutch and Turkish Embassies. The Dutch involvement is obvious but the Turkish is because it is believed that tulips were introduced to the Netherlands, from Turkey in 1593!

The tulips at Araluen were first planted in 1934, received from Holland in wooden boxes, each bulb wrapped in paper the colour of the flower. This year, 120,000 bulbs have been planted.

This image has been desaturated while I was fartnarkling with images. I don't know if it is the right decision.................I will post the other candidates on my folio. Any feedback gratefully received :) Three images are hereif you want to tell me I'm daft ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.