Bank Street, Inverness. Was surprised last night, to find they'd re-opened it, after months of the flood alleviation works blocking parts off. Probably to save confusion and chaos with the tourists over the coming busy months.

Took two similar shots here. My mind was thrown when setting up for the first, and I'd calculated in my head the exposure based on there being a yellow filter on the lens (losing about a stop of light). So it was set to over-expose. In reality, when the film came back, there wasn't a great deal of difference, so maybe shouldn't have bothered. That wouldn't have been the case with digital. Had managed a single frame a day from this spool, up until today.

What threw my mind, started beside the church. I'd been innocently walking along, when... Splat! Splat! Splat! Splat! I froze, as gull poo hit the pavement all around me.  The appropriate pun type expletive was issued. I didn't feel anything hit me. Hair - okay. Jacket taken off and inspected - nothing. Trousers seemed okay too. A sigh of relief, with a touch of disbelief.

Walked on eventually to the spot where I took this, and reached for the camera under my jacket - the large lens of which had been poking out from under the bottom of the jacket - and, "Oh no!" One pooped on lens hood, which had smeared on to the bottom of the jacket, and then back on to other parts of the lens. Same expletive issued again, along with questioning of the culprit's parentage.

Took an age to clean it up. Even called upon an old toothbrush to clean out some grooves it'd found its way into. Yuck. Jacket in a black bag for thorough washing later. I really am going seriously off those swines...



Nikon F100 : f/11 : 1/800" : 70mm : ISO 400

Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR
Film: Kodak TRI-X 400 (B&W negative)


[Frame : 31]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.