ADVICE AND CONSENT

An afternoon spent at the hospital with my neighbour. Three appointments, firstly with a most kind and helpful nurse; then the Lead Pharmacist, and finally the Oncology Speciality Doctor. All of them gave as much time as was needed to reassure M about her queries and concerns. At no point did we feel rushed, and they said no question was trivial, the seemingly trivial ones could be the most important ones. After a nervous start we both visibly relaxed and I took notes while M went through her list of questions. When we came out it definitely felt as though a large weight had lifted off M's shoulders and she was much more positive and certainly chirpier. I felt a lot better too as I had been nervous of the responsibility. I don't consider myself a responsible person to start with!

So much has happened since that out-of-the-blue moment in May, and there is a lot to contend with yet, but now there is a glimmer of light on the horizon. I hope it burns brighter as each week goes on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.