La vida de Annie

By Annie

Yorkshire gold

Cold and windy today so looking around the kitchen for an emergency blip I chanced on this. It got me to thinking nostalgically of where I was born and raised until I left at 19 as a student, and where I still consider home despite living , working and bringing up 4 children here in Liverpool. I have never acquired the accent in all that time, and although my Yorkshire one is very faint it will return after a few minutes spent in the company of another true Tyke*

*Noun 1. Tyke - a native of Yorkshire
2. tyke - a crude uncouth ill-bred person lacking culture or refinement

Unfortunate dual meaning of the word which I am sure a tyke or two on here will pick up on, although Tykes are not generally tykes, if you see what I mean.

My view of the typical Yorkshire person is of someone very matter-of-fact and down-to-earth, not suffering fools gladly and very hard to impress. They are masters of understatement; on a tv documentary recently a man who'd spectacularly been thrown off his high-powered motorbike when avoiding a loose horse on a country road, was asked how he felt by a traffic policeman. The poor guy's arm was barely attached and his face looked like a strawberry trifle, but he calmly said "Ah've bin better". The humour is decidedly deadpan, or as my kids say, totally unfunny, but then they're Scousers with their so-called amazing sense of humour, which leaves me cold. When I say something I think of as witty at home, I get stared at uncomprehendingly, groaned at, or just get "oh, that's a Mum joke". We can take a joke at our own expense though (fortunately, as it transpires on here - you know who I mean), so just to prove it I'll point you to this comedy link. Apologies for the dreadful canned laughter.

Another classic sketch here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.