2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

'Broken down train causes commuter chaos'

Got to the station to find another disrupted commute. A freight train had broken down just outside the station blocking everything on its way in.

Staff had no idea how long it would take to fix and so the station was full of noisy trains that couldn't go anywhere and despondent passengers who were also stranded. It was also very cold on the station and I only had a thin cardigan - it is usually so hot on the bus, train and tube.

I tweeted several times from the station. One of my tweets (plus this photo) was used by the local paper in their report on the breakdown (Commuter chaos).

After 90 minutes, the first trains started heading into the station. I was shivering by now and very pleased to buy a coffee, get on a train, find a precious seat and head off to work. I arrived at 10.15 after having left the house at 7.30.

Not a great start to the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.