Super wasp

I was back at the nature reserve today, catching up with various tasks. Along one of the woodland rides I spotted this really impressive parasitic wasp that I've not seen before. When I got home I discovered it has an equally impressive name - Gasteruption jaculator. You would expect some dramatic action with a name like that, but all I saw was her visiting various flowers. When she is ready she will insert that long ovipositor into a nest of a solitary bee or wasp and leave her eggs on or near to the eggs of the host. When her eggs hatch they will feed on the grubs of the host as well as on stored food placed there for the grubs. This species is apparently quite widespread in England, but it's a new one for me.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.