LovestoRoam

By MelanieMay

"Girl look at that body, Ah I work out"

So this is how I spend my Saturday mornings, surrounded by beefy sweaty men who like to lift heavy things. It's a little intimidating walking into the weights area when you are the only girl and then going and picking up little dumb bells to start warming up. I feel that the guys are looking at me and thinking 'what is the point' or 'she is getting nowhere' but having started with 3kg dumb bells I ended up deadlifting and shoulder pressing 40kg and squatting 80kg. So I felt pretty chuffed with myself and then I thought the guys were probably thinking 'fair play at least she is giving it ago'. The reality is they probably didn't even notice me, but when you feel uncomfortable in your surroundings your mind goes in to overdriving thinking that others are judging you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.