Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

An Alien in the Garden

I'm a bit of a stranger to gardening. It's not that I particularly dislike it, but more a question of having little time to keep it tidy when there are more pressing things vying for attention on the perpetual "to do" list.

The weather today has been perfect for doing some cutting back - fair but not too hot. I attacked the hedge between my garden and my upstairs neighbour Maralyn's, which has various things other than privet growing in it, and chopped out a lot of the greenery that shouldn't have been there. Hopefully I can now use the hedge trimmer on the privet that's left, if the rain holds off tomorrow morning.

I heard a lot of buzzing around the snowberry shrub and saw that, although it has lots of white berries growing now, the pretty little pink flowers are still there as well so it continues to attract insects. This fly settled on it for ages in the late afternoon sunshine. I always think insect eyes look like aliens from outer space when you look at them in close-up.

Talking of aliens, this scary Dalek is always hanging around the reception at New Broadcasting House, so I'm not sure if he will make an appearance in the new series of Doctor Who, which has started this evening on BBC1. The eagle-eyed among you might spot a cheeky little blipfoto reference in my photo, which I stuck on the Dalek to show that I really did take the picture myself and didn't just copy one from the internet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.