jillington

By jillington

Warsaw Glass Factory

Kathy K. and I drove to Ft. Wayne today to attend a sock yarn sale. I've never knit a sock but I think I'll try it. How hard can it be? I hear Norwegian boys knit their own socks, surely I can too.

So, we stopped at a family farm in Warsaw to get some tomatoes for marinara and decided to have lunch at a favorite restaurant. I made a wrong turn on our way towards home and got a tiny bit lost so we plugged in the GPS and continued on our way. Because of this we happened upon the Glass Factory (which we've never passed before) and agreed to stop and check it out. What a great place! The woman behind the counter asked if we would like to visit the workroom where her husband was cutting the glass. Of course we said yes!

We were led to the back of the building and it was as if we went back in time. To 1911 to be exact. The equipment was original to the very beginning with pulleys overhead and the friendliest artisan willing to let us watch him work his magic. Today he was cutting the design "Rye", originally commissioned by Marshall Field in the 1940s, into rocks glasses. He made it look easy but each glass was a little work of art, perfectly executed. It takes thirty years of practice but it was a joy to watch. We'll definitely go back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.