Katydid

It was dark and windy and threatened rain all day, but in the end, it didn't deliver much. Maybe this ultra-rainy phase we've been going through lately is nearing its end. When I looked out the deck door windows in the morning, I saw this large green bug. It was taking shelter behind the orange fly swatter that we leave hanging on the deck.

I went outside to get a better view of it, and snapped a few close-up pictures. The bug waved its antennas around at me when I got a little too close. Only upon downloading the pictures and looking closer did I notice a much smaller bug, out of focus, on this end of the fly swatter. Perhaps that was its prey, and the katydid was worried I might sneak a bite. No worries there, mate! I've already had my breakfast, so this bug's for you!

This is a song dedicated to this large green bug taking shelter beneath a fly swatter: Bob Dylan's classic tune, Shelter from the Storm. Here's a bonus track: a cover of the same song by the wonderful Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.