Smile

My neighbour told me that a second set of steps had been built at the far end of the development. The site being empty on a Sunday and access more restricted as they've started landscaping the seaward side I clambered along for a look-see.

These steps have a very differen feel, sheltered by the huge sea defences from the prevailing westerlies. On a sparkling late summer's day they were sheltered and warm, and will have direct access from the street about half a block from home when the work is complete and the building opens next Spring. It will make a perfect blipping spot on wild days. I'm beginning to have a slight fondness for the development, seeing possibilities as the fabric of the old building is restored, old stone recycled into planter walls.

I'd been muttering all Victor Meldrew (link in case the reference is obscure for our American cousins) about the defacement of the wall. Then I read its message. So I took the hint.

Inspired by beach, landscape and found art themes in others' journal I've started a micro art project of my own. Will blip it if and when it develops. Feeeling I need to start interacting with the massive structures to make friends with them.

#One other thing: I was stopped in my tracks, given further food for thought when I saw this irridescent web glistening in the low sun. It was built right on the outside edge of the sea defences closest to the water. It gave me the feeling that I might eventually become intimate with each of the hundreds, maybe thousands of rocks that now line the shore. I wonder where they came from? Much of the tons of marble used elswhere in the town comes from China. The web and the graffiti gave me the urge to start opening my heart to them all so far from home.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.