Did I buy one?

Here’s the lovely Frieda (friedaquilter) with just a few of her journal quilts that are on show at an exhibition in Peebles. Those of you who subscribe to Frieda will know all about this. For those who don’t this link will tell you everything.

I have followed Frieda for almost as long as I have been on Blip. I find her journal inspirational, whether she is doing her beautiful close ups of flowers, showing us gardens she has visited or amazing designs she finds on gravestones. But most of all I love the way she shares the work she is doing. She is a wonderfully creative and skilled textile artist and, as someone who did at one time take such art quite seriously even managing to produce some pieces I was quite pleased with, I appreciate the skill, imagination and work that goes into the smallest piece, never mind the full-size quilts she does. I am most taken with her hand stitching, which is exquisite and has rightly won her awards over the years.

We became blip friends and communicate every day, then we met up last year when Frieda was exhibiting the 52 journal quilts in Dumbarton and I was mesmerised by them. So, when I knew she was showing them again in Peebles, I decided I had to go. I was especially keen to see them again, as it turned out she was selling them.

We had a lovely drive through the Scottish Borders with the heather on the hills glowing in the sun. We then arrived in Peebles to find it in full Festival swing – all sorts going on and lots of people about. Meeting Frieda again was lovely and her exhibition was great.

So did I buy a little quilt? Indeed I did. There it is in the picture, the bottom left blue one – the one with all the beautiful hand stitching! I have just looked back to November 2012, when this one was blipped, and strangely enough I loved it then and favourited it. Never did I think then that I would actually own it.

Thank you Frieda and I look forward to meeting you when you deliver my quilt in a couple of months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.