Ivanbar1

By Ivanbar1

Enjoying The View

Today was a brilliant day.
My old school friend Cathy came to stay last night on her way to see some other friends, who live on a farm up in the hills between Paeroa and Thames.

We had a great catch up and it was enhanced at dinner time when my sister and brother-in-law joined us to share the meal and the fun.

After a leisurely breakfast this morning, Cathy suggested that myself and my other half should also come visit her friends (who we also know) and we agreed it was a good idea.

The farm is 1000 acre dairy farm conversion, (it used to be a sheep and beef farm) milking 600 cows and the views from the farmhouse and surrounding buidings were absolutely spectacular ! It was as though we were up in an aeroplane and had an almost 360 degree view taking in Hamilton, the entire Hauraki Plains, The Firth of Thames and all the way out to Waiheki Island in the East. The weather was also spectacular!

We had a delicious lunch after which, the men went off to bring the cows in for the afternoon milking. Because the farm is so large and hilly this took about an hour and while that was happening Cathy, Rhonda and I fed the calves....( a task I happen to be very experienced at but which I have not done for a few years since we sold our milking herd. )
We all enjoyed the day tremendously .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.