The Ice Bucket Challenge

I've been amazed at the spread of the #icebucketchallenge. So many of my family and friends around the UK and North America have already participated and posted videos on Facebook and photos on Blip so I knew I'd get nominated some time soon. I have to admit that I was dreading that happening.

Don't get me wrong, I think it's great fun and it's been great to see how money and awareness has been raised of a horrible disease. I've already made a donation to MND Scotland and I know that they will put it to good use.

I would happily let someone chuck a bucket of cold water over me, just for fun. What I'd don't like, however, is the feeling that I'm letting people down if I 'break the chain', but that's exactly what I'm prepared to do now. So my apologies to Jenn, who nominated me in good faith, I'm sorry to let you down. I hope, however, that you will approve of my alternative.

Like every one who will be reading this, I give to charity, but I tend to keep quiet about it. Yet the impact that social media has on raising awareness is incredible and I want to play my part. I've decided, therefore, that I will share with you the three charities that I support regularly, and why I think they are important. I'm going to follow them on Facebook and share some of their posts to help spread their message. In the spirit of the ice bucket challenge, I will also nominate three people to do the same with causes they are passionate about.

So here's my three:

Amnesty International - because every time I watch the news, I see human rights being abused. Amnesty's independence allows them to take a stance and shout out 'this is wrong' when governments, for whatever complex political reasons, stay quiet.

The Big Issue - because every time I leave the house, I see people living on the streets. The Big Issue gives homeless people an opportunity to turn their lives around, it's a "Hand up, not a hand out". It's also a very good read, so buy it and read it!

The Red Cross - because when disaster strikes, they are there; helping people who are suffering, no matter what 'side' they are on.

Edit: Spent a lovely afternoon at Culzean, some photos in my Flickr stream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.