Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Mt St Mary's hydrant

I set myself a mini-challenge today - though I started it yesterday, really. At least for the rest of this month, and for September, I intend to act as though I'm shooting film, and with an old camera: I am limited to one "roll" (a 24-frame one) a week. If there's a particular reason to shoot more, I'll allow an extra "roll". I will allow myself to use Av mode inside - at least initially - but other than that, unmetered will be the way of it. I may not chimp and alter settings; if I can't figure out the exposure I'll have to spend a few frames bracketing the shot - and find out later how I did.

I'm enjoying it so far. Two shutter openings yesterday; three today; nineteen left for the week.

Here's a hydrant/tap thing through the fence at Mt St Mary's in Katoomba. I thought the red stood out in rather a neat way. I liked it even more after playing with the camera's digital filters (my film pretence only goes so far; I'm allowing myself whatever digital darkroom shenanigans I want).

Click to enpipenate.

Biggr. Bettr. Flickr.

I also liked (sort of) this pile of discarded takeaway coffee cups. That is to say, I thought it made a worthwhile image; I definitely did not like that the pile was there. >_<

Takumar Bayonet 1:2.8 20mm on Pentax K-30. f/5.6 (of course).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.