Plus ça change...

By SooB

Watching paint dry

And it dries too quick around here.

Early morning start in the school office. After the departure of the other half of the treasury team in June, the Secretary is helping me with the stuff I don't understand (anything to do with being an employer, or any letters couched in that polite French that means the opposite of what it first appears ("oh look at this lovely letter - so polite!" "Oh my, they are REALLY unhappy with you!")

Lots done, lots of 'no, she never said that! What a nerve' tales of dealings with someone who is going to be a problem this year. And everyone else painted the nursery school.

Eventually I escaped from the office and bought bread. Lunch, and then straight into painting. Sadly I forgot to get pictures of the kids painting the Chamber of Secrets, but here's a bit of it wearing coat number one.

Then some digging so those poor leeks can get in the ground, and later dinner followed by another family giggling session with David Sedaris on the radio. I declined to explain why someone being called Mrs Drydyk was funny to TallGirl - mainly just so I didn't miss the rest of the show.

Tomorrow will bring more painting and, hopefully, a bit more gardening too. And I WILL have slept better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.