gennepher

By gennepher

Some little cards I made...

Some little cards I made to hand out at places, interviews, appointments, officialdom, etc to try and explain my deafness.

I do explain to people but they assume because I can speak that I can hear even though I explained at the beginning that I can't hear and I manage mostly by lipreading. I also explain how to help me but rarely do people listen. I also get very tired of explaining again and again and again. I also ask they leave the card in their folder or take them on the front.

Handing these cards out gives it that little extra edge to what I am trying to explain.

I made them about ten years ago when I was experiencing some very difficult situations.

I am thinking of revamping them. What do you think?
Are they any help to any of you that have similar problems?

They are small credit card sized and they open up. I make a larger one too for ease of reading.

The thing is when you present them they have to be relatively short so as not to take up too much time at the beginning of the session, something that can be taken in at a moment or two.

I welcome any feedback for a future version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.