Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Going on air ...

I was at a concert this morning, in the Queen's Hall in Edinburgh, where one of the joys of the Festival is that you get going to great concerts ... in the morning. Now, you're not allowed to take photos of performers in mid-flow, as it were, and I don't think I'd want to when I'm listening to music, but just before the orchestras (The Scottish Ensemble and The Commonwealth Orchestra) came on, I noticed this chap at the far end of the gallery, talking into one of these excellent mikes with the mouthpiece.

I haven't yet found out if the concert was broadcast live, or is yet to go on air, but I can recommend it: there was a new commission performed by a New Zealand composer that I thoroughly enjoyed, as well as three of my favourite string pieces that I've never heard live - Elgar, Vaughan Williams and Tippett.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.