my little eye

By clarebeme

Losing focus

It's the last full week of the school holidays and I'm crawling through it while rapidly losing focus or is it my grip?

We've been very busy this Summer, maaaaaaybeeeeee a bit too busy and now it would just be nice if it could stop. But. It isn't going to.

It's my Mum's birthday next weekend but we'll be at the End of the Road festival, so today we had a wee celebration; cooked something nice, delicious actually; Ottolenghi's slow cooked chicken and prunes (I'll add a link later) and baked a cake - orange drizzle with a sugar crust. Then we went to see Warhorse on stage; moving and magical.

Now I'm in bed, writing this nonsense instead of going to sleep. I'm not particularly looking forward to a 7.30a.m. rat-a-tat-tat in a few short hours. Elsa and Alice's best friend Ada will be arriving on the doorstep to stay with us tomorrow and Thursday, in advance of science summer school on Thursday and Friday.

But before I know it the girls will be back at school (next week) and then I'll be moaning that I wish it was the holidays again.

There really is no pleasing some folk and I recognise (shamefaced) that I'm one of them. I do think acceptance is a key to happiness, so it's something big for me to work on. Awareness is the first step, right? *

I'm too tired to think about it anymore right now (my phone just bounced on my nose as I fell asleep writing this!) but it's good to record it here for further consideration.

In the morning I'll probably be really surprised to read all this; my current confused viewpoint. Let's see shall we - maybe it will all be a bit clearer. I can hope can't I?!

Morning after: * I have discovered a basic flaw in my argument: if the key to happiness is acceptance then maybe I have to accept who I am right now rather than trying to become more accepting. Oh no, brain ache!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.