Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

First day of school

My beautiful, amazingly sweet and wonderfully compassionate boy in my eyes, perfectly ordinary in the eyes of the World started big school today. Congratulations my gorgeous Callum.

And Reuben started 2nd grade. So much to say on this but I'll leave you with the thought that he has a hill to climb in terms of re-socializing with friends he was close with last year. It's really been just the boys together all summer in their safety net and my heart truly ached for Reuben today in his seeming isolation. It didn't help that it was only later that he told me his hearing aid wasn't working. So much to share on this that I will tomorrow.

Home and got to work on painting the house again for the parent's party being hosted by us on Thursday, all 260 invitees! Oh boy.

For now, I must sleep. I've poured so much emotion in the last few days in making today the kind of perfect that keeps me sane. We all have our own ways of making our world an easier place for ourselves and for me, this is part of it, having visual memories to make up for what my 45 year old often neglects to store.

I'll leave you with Reuben's former teacher Miss Rose photo bombing our all important first day of school pic. I LOVE IT!

Goodnight. And for tomorrow, good luck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.