The Wren

By TheWren

Au Revoir Vegas

I had a great view of the Strip as I left Las Vegas this afternoon. It was hard to leave the family behind as I know they have a difficult few months ahead. It has been a privilege for me to be able to be with them for these few days, some of which have been a bit bumpy, and to have had the opportunity to meet my two tiny grand-daughters who should really still be tucked safely away from view in their mummy's womb. However they are here, and are now in the next best place trying to cope with life on the other side where they have to learn the mechanics of breathing for themselves - it is a very caring and modern NICU with amazing, dedicated nurses and doctors and we have to trust them to nurture these beautiful preemies so they may one day grow into strong and healthy babies.

Before I left I managed to make two identical quilts to cover the isolettes the babies are in so that they can sleep in cozy darkness and relative peace to simulate the womb. My daughter-in-law and I had fun choosing some nice cheery fabric for them - thankfully already quilted on the roll - so all I had to do was to hand sew the binding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.