Rosemarie55

By Rosemarie55

Brechin Round Tower

Took my car into Brechin for a Health Check and Valet Service - I want my car to look its best for the wedding on Saturday! Had a walk round the town in the meantime and visited the Cathedral. The stained glass windows are out of this world but I didn't photograph any of them. Took lots of shots outside and liked this one of the Round Tower the best. It has a long history and I think in early times was used as a Bell Tower.

Brechin owes its origins to the medieval Cathedral, the oldest building in the Burgh, and the Celtic monastery which preceded it. The Round Tower was built a few hundred years before the Cathedral to which it is now attached. It is believed the Tower was built soon after 1012 and is one of only two surviving Irish-type Towers in Scotland (the other being in Abernethy).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.