The new hat

Meet Alison, a neighbour and my very dear friend :

She's an artist, a writer of poetry, a knitter, sewer and a creater of many crafts as well as being a true friend and to top it all she's a great character -
she went to Much Wenlock today but forgot where she put the car - bought the new hat and then got loads of people on board to help her find the car. She got home safely and found T and I in the garden where we've been for most of the day: cutting the hedges, the edges, pruning, cutting back (think I may have cut back the favourite Clematis in its prime?), dead heading, sweeping up, admiring our handiwork and finally going to the tip. On the way back we stopped outside another friend's house to purchase a large bag of tomatoes, some courgettes and a huge bunch of Asters from his Allotment; We ate many of the tomatoes straight from the bag before we got home, still warm and really delicious.

After all that exertion I've decided to tackle the unfinished inside chores another day and just put my feet up for a while with a glass of wine and hope I'll be able to stand up straight and make my way to the kitchen later ....!

Autumn took a back seat today, as a beautiful late summer day returned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.