Cars

My father worked with engines; he was a diesel fitter by trade. the first car he owned was a Cortina Mk1 which he brush painted a lurid orange - I'd left home before my parents joined the car-owning class. He also pop-riveted a metal ashtray to the driver's door and this thing rattled whenever the engine was running. He once told me that the car he'd really like to own was a Saab 9000.

I mentioned at the end of July that the Mazda passed its MOT. However, a week or so later I noticed that the clutch was slipping and it really wasn't worth spending any more brass on it. Changing cars became an imperative when I knew that I'd be going to Manchester so I hit the web and started looking for something that would run for a while and get me up and down the motorway a few times. The August 13th blip shows the seat the car dealer sat in when we did the paperwork that meant he took the Mazda and I took a Saab 93 from him. How could I not buy a Saab?

It's comfortable and it goes and it has some neat toys so it'll do for now and looking down at the badge makes me smile - not many motors offer that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.