My Everyday

By MyEveryday

Walking in the Trees

Quiet, tranquil, wind blowing through the leaves....and then a scream of delight!!!

We arrived at a campground this afternoon to meet Granny and Poppy, and stay for a long weekend. The campground was on the coast...the beach just a few minute walk from where we were sleeping. Right behind our camp there were these gigantic fallen tress and tree stumps. Some trees had tunnels which the kids could walk through; others had fallen and the kids enjoyed walking and climbing over the trees.

Needless to say, my almost two year old was VERY proud of himself as he cllimbed and walked along the tree trunks, many all by himself.

As I was growing up I didn't live very close to my dad, my stepmom Jody, and two stepsisters, Amy, and Sarah. Quite often, my brother and I would fly to see them only for holidays and a short summer vacation. As I've "grown up" though, we've all ended up living on the same West coast. My dad and Jody now live only about 4 1/2 hours away, driving. We see them at least 4-5 times a year, if not more. As the distance has shortened between us, our relationship has grown much closer, not only as them being parents, but also as grandparents to my children.

They are the kind of grandparents that really make an effort..I mean REALLY make an effort. And it's not in gifts, or monetary items...but with their time. They have become such incredible grandparents to my children. I love hearing my one year old say POPPY and GRANDY over and over. I love watching both of my children's eyes light up when I say we are going to visit them, or they are coming to see us. Or better yet, the look in their eyes when they see each other. Thanks so much Dad and Jody for being such incredible people.
Such a special weekend with Granny and Poppy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.