Go away, I'm a Cobra!

I just happened to glance out of the kitchen window this p.m. to see a couple of Magpies alternately leaping in, pecking at, and leaping away from, something on the back grass. I knew it wasn't a bit of the chicken carcass, boiled for soup: the black-backs had seen to that long ago, besides, it was still moving.
They were duly "seen off" and I rescued this handsome critter. It had been rearing up cobra-style which I think must have caused the panicky leaps backward on the part of the "Maggies"
I knew we hadn't many HUGE moths and this one was fairly distinctive. It didn't take long to find out that it appears to be an Elephant hawk moth caterpillar. I was gobsmacked to find it preferred Willowherb, with a side order of Fuchsia in the absence of willowherb. Unfortunately it took off while I was indoors checking or it might have ended up in a fuchsia bush,
Thinks ... "Hell, it's had a long trek." Then I realised that, although I've no idea where the nearest Rosebay, or Great hairy are, I have a gaden full of a smaller variety as weeds.
I also discovered that they burrow to pupate, must be careful next spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.