Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Farewell

Noun: An act of parting or of marking someone’s departure.

The Mother left here on the 7th of July to begin a life in a care home, I left today to put this behind me and get on with a new life of my own. The Mother will still feature in my daily routine but I have emptied her bungalow, cleaned everything down, painted one of the rooms and The Man has attended to the garden.

This home was so special to The Mother. She had lived with her mother's house until my Nan died, aged 92. She had a few years in Whitehaven after that but then, because of health issues, she moved into a lovely little estate of special housing for the elderly, just opposite the estate where we live. She had a chance, in retirement, for the first time in her life, to have everything just how she wanted it.

It was perfect!

We move on. I have locked the door.

I have walked away.

This bungalow is not part of my everyday life any more.

I know who will live here next, a friend's mum. I hope she fares well here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.