Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

NEVER MIND THE QUALITY!!

Feel the width.

To the one person who saw Mk l my apologies for "moving" it

4 & 20 Blackbirds.

Seriously though ...
Any Pukka ornithologists out there?

In my limited experience, and observation to date, so far as I am aware 3 Blackbirds (Turdus merulus) constituted a fight, 2 to fight and one to referee.

The only time I remember seeing more is breeding time and the family out in force before the young either go their separate ways or get killed.

These last few days (weeks) as the gloom and gloaming advances hence the quality, or lack thereof; I observed Blackbirds arriving in ones and twos, from North of a rough East/West line, quite a few having an evening dip in the water-fall, then up into the Birch.

I think this only shows about 16 IF you know where they are.
Believe me they are Blackbirds.
Top count ever was 24/25(ish)

They then depart. into the gloom, in the same ones and twos. Always South of that fictitious East/West line.

Anybody enlighten me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.