Erinn Letts Photos

By ErinnL

Grasshopper

All I can say about this not-so-little guy is that when I saw him on the sunroom window, I ran for my camera. The kids were all outside playing with friends no more than ten feet away. When they saw me, camera in hand and determination in my step, they froze and started looking all around for whatever it was that I was coming to "capture." "What!? What?!" they said.

In order to get this guy, I had to stand on the edges of our plexiglass egress window cover, hold my camera as high as I could with the panel flipped out and shade my eyes from the glaring sun with my other hand. The thing I think I love most about the photo is that it looks like he has a droopy eyelid and is giving me a look of superiority. In fact, the "eyelid" is a shadow cast by his antennae from the intense sun. The reflection on the glass is what I was going for. The only thing that would have made me happier with this photo is if you could have seen his immense muzzle, which I caught in a later photo once I got him to jump off the window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.