21 days to go

I spent the afternoon in Oban which included time in the YES shop, one of the most impressive I have seen and buzzing like all the YES hubs around the country.

I then drove to Cuan on Seil to get the ferry to Luing. I had arranged to meet the Trustees of the new Atlantic Islands Centre , with which I have been involved for several years, before going on to speak at an independence referendum meeting on the island.

It was great to see the new centre rising out of the ground in a fantastic site at Culipool, right next to the old slate quarry which is now flooded. The centre will tell the story of these slate islands and place them in their geographic, environmental and historical context and will be a major boost for Luing . Those who have worked so tirelessly to make it happen deserve substantial thanks.

The meeting in Toberonochy Hall at the other end of the island was well attended and there were lots of good questions. I was debating with the Oban North Independent Councillor Duncan MacIntyre and it was a civilised exchange of views.

We both managed to get the 10.00pm boat back across to Cuan - the last boat of the day. By that time the wind had risen and I had a blowy two hour drive home across Argyll.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.