JohnW

By JohnW

Sunlit by the Sunset

Earlier this evening Biskit was taking me for a walk over the fields at the back of our house when I spotted the low sun had created a great effect on the lime trees that edge High Street up to the A15. It was at that same moment I realised that I did not have my trusty telephone with me. If I had thought of that before leaving home Mrs W would have been able to tell me that dinner was early. In trouble again, and no great shadowy trees to blip.

So after dinner Biskit and I ventured out again, this time with Mrs W’s cast off Cannon 400D and shot what was left of the light. Although still quite good the lime trees in shadow were now beaten by the low light on the trees and houses at the bottom of the field.

The house you can see the upper stories of on the left of the picture is Ringstone House. Some of you may remember Michael Palin’s “Ripping Yarns” from some years back. It was back in the early 70’s when he passed Rippingale and the name inspired the title and hence the series. The episode “The Curse of the Claw” was filmed in Ringstone House and it’s grounds. I think it was still a vicarage in those days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.