LifeOfNay

By LifeOfNay

Family

Family

I woke up around 8am today & tried to plan an awesome day out. Which didn’t happen, anything slightly fun was either to far away or to expensive. 15 Pounds to go to the botanical gardens!! Didn’t cost anything in Oz last one we went too.
I was feeling a bit sick this morning, I think my body is struggling with English food. I had this last time I was over so I lay down for a little bit after breakfast, we watched a movie and I had a midday nap. Which was probably good for my hip seeing as were off to London for the day tomorrow. I woke up around 2.30 still feeling rubbish so Nathan & I went out for a coffee to wake us up and some fresh fruit which Amy ended up cutting up putting in a giant bowl and we ate on the drive to Woking. Best idea, my body was grateful for some healthy food finally!
I had planned to visit my cousin Emma who lived about half an hour away in Surrey, but we didn’t get ready until 3.30, the GPS took us the completely wrong way so it took us around an hour and 20 minutes to get there. We did go at a bad time of the day we had all the work traffic too. Felt like a massive mission by the time we arrived we were all ready for another nap! Amy was incredibly hung over too so she was ready for bed. Although, we did pass a Christmas tree farm on the way which was pretty cool to see & one of the roundabouts we went through was so huge it had a small Forrest in the middle of it! Round a bouts in England are insane compared to Australia. There’s several sets of traffic lights on them, mini forests, surprised people don’t build little villages on them! Takes about half an hour just to do a loop. Bit of an exaggeration but they are ridiculously big.

We eventually got to Emma’s around 5pm and were greeted by an excited Zachary. We had a quick tour of the house, which is so lovely, then sat down to enjoy a cup of tea. We were talking on the way there about how every where we visit we will be offered cups of tea. One stereo type about England that seems to be true! Everyone drinks tea! Not that we’re complaining, on a cold day it’s great.
Zachary went round the room picking up his toys, his rain coat and everything of his excitedly showing it to Amy & I. Nathan by this point was engorged by Happy Feet on the Tv. Zachary tried to put one of my shoes on, which are a mens Australian size 9, they must have been big enough to put his whole leg in! Amy & I just sat there enjoying his company and how adorable he is.
From there we head off to my Auntie Maggie & Uncle Mick's house for some Chinese for dinner. Granddad made his way over & also my other Auntie Trisha. It was the first and probably only time I’d get to see my auntie’s & uncle on this trip so it was really lovely to be able to have some time with them all. We got the same questions again, about my injury, our travels, the wedding etc. Definitely need to get a slide show going!
We had to head off around 8.30 as Amy had some friends to meet, we offered to drive Granddad home but he said he’d walk. It was getting dark and late, and he’s a bit wobbly on his feet so we insisted. He sat in the front seat, where I usually sit so the chair was kicked right back and the back rest was learning back. We called him gansta granddad, Amy & I were singing ‘They see me rollin’’ all the way home.
We dropped Granddad off and said our goodbyes incase we didn’t have time to see him before moving on to Oxford on Friday.
The drive home was yet another detour, we ended up back at Gatwick airport. Which always means you’ve gone the wrong way. But we made it back safely.. in the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.