Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Ready to Go

WARNING: Cynical desperation blipping!

Less than 36 hours to the Lovers of Light trip to Svalbard in the Arctic Circle. This is my kit, ready for the trip north. I have everything covered from 15mm fisheye to 300+ mm, full frame and I intend to take the Nikon V2 with adapter to get some long telephoto nature shots. I certainly don't intend to use the fisheye to capture any polar bears!



While many of you will be basking in late summer warmth the predicted maximum temperature will not get above freezing on the archaepelago. To get there takes three flights, Heathrow, to Oslo, on to Tromso and finally on to Longyearbyen.



We have an action packed few days including an all terrain vehicle safari, boat transfers to and from Hotel Isjford Radio and a full day boat safari, finishing off with a self driven dog sled ride. Looks like the weather could be predominantly cloudy but with potential sunny periods. The sun is above the horizon for approximately 17 hours of the day when we arrive so there should be a chance of different lighting conditions. We have been 'offered' the opportunity for a swim in the Arctic Ocean followed by a recovering sauna. Not sure this will feature high on my bucket list for the week!



I'm hoping I can share the adventure with you each day but will be reliant on wifi to post blips. We will have to wait and see. If you want to see where we are going this is a link to a webcam at the Hotel.



We are pretty much packed and ready. I do hope I can do the location justice with some good images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.